About Me

I was born in Southend on Sea in Essex in September 1996. I was raised, and went to school in Canvey Island, taking my GCSE’s at the Cornelius Vermuyden School and Arts College.

Back in Southend on Sea, at South Essex College, I achieved 3 A-Levels in English Literature, Media Studies and Geography, as well as completing the Extended Project Qualification.

Currently, I’m in the final year of a three Year BA Multimedia Journalism degree at the University of Essex in Colchester. I have spent time on work placements at the Essex Chronicle weekly newspaper in Chelmsford, where I have had work published both online and in print. I also spent time at ITV Anglia in Norwich, and BBC Essex in Chelmsford.

Over the course of my degree, I spent time at The Sun offices in London, as well as a week working with the Digital Online Sport Team for the Daily Mirror, where I had various work featured on their website.

Also, I have been part of a project in which I oversaw the creation & production of an extended features magazine, as well as a supplementary pullout in cohesion with the Colchester Gazette.

I cover all angles of journalism but, I specialise in sport journalism in particular. I am an avid sports fan, and am particularly passionate about my football teams Southend United, and Tottenham Hotspur, as well as boxing and wrestling. I have written about the sport in articles I have had published in the University of Essex student newspaper, Rebel, as well as The Sun and Daily Mirror. In addition to being a content writer for the paper, I was the Deputy Sports Editor, working alongside the editorial team to produce quality work for the paper, particularly in my sports section, and to ensure the publication of the paper runs smoothly. The newspaper was distributed across the Colchester, Southend and Loughton campuses.

Throughout 2016 and some of 2017, I co-hosted a weekly topical football show for the University of Essex radio channel, Rebel Radio.

Outside of work, I am a fully qualified FA Level 1 coach, and during the summer and Easter breaks, I coach at a local football activity and development programme for 4-16 year old’s in my hometown of Canvey Island.

My other past jobs include being a lifeguard, an occupation I held for over a year alongside my A Levels. I was also a College Enrolment Assistant, and a Residents Assistant in my University halls, where my job was to oversee a group of students and make sure they were comfortable and adjusting to university life smoothly.

Advertisements